The Zen of Hiking

I’m a Registered Holistic Nutritionist and I’m sure it will come as no surprise that one of the things I talk to my clients about is exercise. It’s not that they don’t know that moving is “good for them” … but more the questions why aren’t they moving? what motivates them? what are the rewards?

I LOVE to hike. My husband and I always make sure there is a major hike or two whenever we go on vacation. And though our weekends are often overbooked, we do try to get out to nearby trails.

This weekend was perfect hiking weather – not too hot, not too cool, but just right. And even with those excellent conditions, I really had to talk myself out of staying home to relax and read a book (and let’s be honest – maybe nap a little) and instead hop in the car and drive to the trail close by.

I’m so glad we did.

Hiking the Bruce Trail is so different from walking in the city … when I’m walking on a sidewalk I can let my mind wander, sometimes hash and rehash conversation, solve problems and make lists. Which is all good but …when I’m hiking on the rough rocks and tree-root-covered paths – I have to watch my step, I have to pay attention. I have to live in the moment.

And, I have to work very hard at not being like Alice-in-Wonderland who fell down the rabbit hole, when I’m jumping over crevices that seem to go forever.

I watch in awe the climbers with their rope and carabineers making their way up the sheer rock face.

Hiking up and down the escarpment trail makes ones blood pump a little faster.

The other bonus is that all the adjustments that my body automatically makes to keep me upright, are helping to tone my muscles.

All this and sunshine, fresh air and great views and you’ll feel energized! I no longer felt the need for a nap : )

So I encourage you to pull on a sturdy pair of shoes or boots, find a trail and TAKE A HIKE

Or go for a bike ride or play a game of tennis or golf (without a cart) or do Tai Chi with a group in the park.

Discover activity and movement that brings you joy (at least 3X per week) and you’ll never “exercise” again!

2 comments
  1. wartica said:

    I agree ; hiking is great–especially with other people –because not only are you getting a quality burn, but you’re also having fun with friends 🙂

  2. You have really captured the feeling of hiking in this post – so beautifully written!

Leave a Reply

